Google recently launched Chrome 69. It was introduced with better design. The round edges of the tabs are given in its new look. It is a lot faster than before and it reminds that websites do not have to repeat the password. In addition to all the new features, a new feature has been provided in Chrome 69, under which if you log in to any Google service, you will automatically login to the Chrome browser. This can prove to be a major threat to users’ security.
Simply put, if users log in to their Gmail via Chrome 69, they will be automatically logged into the Chrome browser. This means Google will be able to see your browsing history related to your account. This will prove to be quite beneficial for Google as it will allow Google to provide better user profile. For example: If users are searching about TV, then Google will show them TV ads.
This was first highlighted by Johns Hopkins University’s cryptographer and Professor Matthew Green. He told in a blog post that from now on whenever you login to any of Google’s services, you will automatically login to your browser. This process is being asked or notified with the user. However, he also said that it does not mean that Chrome 69 is syncing your browsing history to Google servers. But no one has commented on why Google is logging in to Automatic User.
Chrome browser can be accessed in two ways. First sign-in mode and second basic mode If the user is using the browser in sign-in mode, then Google will be able to access your data such as browsing history, active tabs, passwords and cloud settings information. At the same time, Basic mode is exactly the opposite of the sign-in mode. This mode offers users the ability to use Google services such as Gmail, Browser, or Google Map without signing in to their account. This will prevent the Google server from accessing any of your personal data. However, it has changed now. In Chrome 69 Google can track and share the user’s data when accessing any Google website.